Nature photography from a woman in the woods

A Spring Surprise . . .

Spring was full of surprises last night and this morning in northern Minnesota. 8-10 inches of very wet, heavy snow plastered everything in sight. Some trees are down and electric was up and down. I am hoping my blooming maple trees will survive …
The sun came out late this afternoon and we are experiencing our second snowfall … the plop, plop, thud of the compacted snow from the very tops of the 80-100 foot pines as it falls in huge clumps. Not a good time to go for a walk in the woods without a hard hat. 😉

I guess I would choose this over a tornado any day … it is rather beautiful and nature will clean up the mess itself by melting it all in a few days.


(click images to enlarge)

8 responses

  1. Wow that is pretty remarkable considering it is spring and not winter season anymore. Great photos.

    April 16, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    • Crazy weather .. that seems to be what you can count on. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      April 17, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  2. How beautiful! That’s a lot of snow for late spring! I certainly agree, much better than some of the weather folks have had lately!

    April 16, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    • Thanks. The snow on the trees has finally all fallen off … usually in great big plops. Still plenty of snow on the ground, but we really need the moisture. We were in an explosive fire watch, it was so dry here … snow was probably the best thing that could have happened to prevent fires.

      April 17, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  3. I know it’s spring and you’ve probably had enough of winter, even a mild winter, but that is so beautiful, Bearyweather. I don’t think we had even one good snowfall like that this past winter. I hope the trees come through okay.

    April 17, 2012 at 6:54 am

    • It is a whole lot easier to deal with it and enjoy it this time of year because we know it will not stick around for more than a few days or a week. And, the way the snow just plastered everything was actually pretty cool … wish I would have had more free time to go out exploring with my camera. These pictures are all from my yard.

      April 17, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  4. Oh it IS gorgeous! The big photos especially–heart-stopping. I didn’t know you had a photo blog, too, bearyweather. Have you had one for a long time? My goodness, we learn something new each day. Our snow, I think, is all melted. We didn’t get as much as you–just a couple of merry inches. (The word merry is sarcastic, yes.)

    April 17, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    • Thanks Kathy, I am glad you found the second me.
      I started this blog at the end of March … I announced it in my post about Spring cleaning and reorganizing. So, it is rather new. Entering the photo challenges was just not working for comments by having it on a separate page … so here it is …. a place to post pictures with few words (I tend to get a bit wordy at Bear In Mind).
      In my mind, it is all one blogging site and I use this as a special page for photos. Something new to try … we will see how it goes … it has been fun designing it so far.

      April 17, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Leave a Reply

