Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Photo Challenge: Out Of Focus

No, your eyesight is not bad … the wordpress photo challenge this week will make you think otherwise, though. These are photos I normally would not share with anyone because they are out of focus or more common … a misplaced focus.

There are some grumblings about this topic. However, if you don’t look at so many that your eyes become permanently crossed, many of the submitted photos are quite gorgeous. On the bright-side, it gives us an excuse to post an “artsy” picture that may never have been seen by anyone else.

This challenge was a different experience for me, too. First, this set of photos are from my library. I never dip into my library for these challenges. The reason I participate is that it challenges me for the week to go out and find or try something new. It is enjoyable for me to look around my world for something to fit the challenge and sometimes I learn new things about my camera or photography in general attempting to meet the challenge. (I may have to go out later this week and try to do this intentionally to see what I can create)

Second, normally my blurry photos are tossed in the trash immediately 99% of the time … I take too many photos daily to keep them. If a blurry picture survives my cleaning and tossing process it is because … it is a special shot I really wanted to turn out, the missed placed focus created an artsy look, or like the last photo in this post … I want help identifying something and it is the only shot I could get. (At the end, you will find a blurry picture of a bird. Could it be some kind of Warbler? Can anyone identify this bird for me?)

Can you see the pussy-willows?



Fuzzy frost:
Believe it or not, there is a bee in this shot.
Sparkles of light in frosty shrub.

My Mystery Bird (click to enlarge and hopefully identify for me)

7 responses

  1. Your bird is a male Yellow-Rumped Warbler in its spring/summer feathers. A very pretty bird. Ilike the photo above it a lot. Nice job. You can view my interpretation of “unfocused” here: http://wp.me/p1TywS-rc
    ~Anne

    May 6, 2012 at 3:18 pm

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused | Wind Against Current

  3. Hi Bearyweather, Hmmm. I can do similar without trying as my long 300-500mm lens is sick and needs adjustment at the factory soon. Oh well. Your pictures do fit the meme well. Have a great day tomorrow!

    May 8, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    • Correction – 150-500mm lens. Oops so sorry. I’m tired tonight and did not think.

      May 8, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  4. By the way, the mystery bird could be a Yellow-Rumped Warbler as someone else has indicated. I have seen several here in TN where I live.

    May 8, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  5. These are really lovely, Bearyweather. The kind of blurry shots I would keep. 🙂

    May 12, 2012 at 10:19 am

    • Thanks … I don’t keep many out of focus shots because they are “mistakes” or “camera experiments”… however, sometimes they turn out very beautiful.

      June 2, 2012 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

