Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Lions and Butterflies and Bees . . .

After all of the rain last week, the first sunshine brought tons of yellows and oranges to my yard. The dandelions all flowered overnight and the bumblebees and Monarch Butterflies were abundant and enjoying them. The number of Monarch Butterflies was extreme for this area. I heard on the radio that the storms had blown the migration slightly off track … we benefitted in beauty from their detour.

6 responses

  1. Beautiful photos! That’s a very happy bee. I envy your Monarchs; we don’t get them here.

    May 28, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    • We usually only have a few Monarchs and they usually hang out where the milkweed grows. This year, we were blessed with lots more due to bad flight navigation.

      June 2, 2012 at 8:21 am

  2. Hi Bearyweather, I had a lot of Monarch butterflies where I used to live in Southern California. We do have a number of Bumblebees here at the little farm here in Tennessee. I also was totally thrilled to see a lot of Honeybees collecting clover pollen here a week ago. First really significant number of Honeybees I have seen here in TN since I have lived here (almost three years). Have a wonderful Wednesday!

    May 29, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    • Good numbers of happy bees are a great sign that our world is still healthy
      I love seeing the friendly fuzzy bees … they are not aggressive. They are so busy that they are not even bothered by my camera lens in their space.

      June 2, 2012 at 8:25 am

  3. Wonderful photos, Bearyweather. How lucky for you that the monarchs came to visit. 🙂

    June 1, 2012 at 5:45 am

    • Also lucky that is was a sunny day and I was home to see them … life has been crazy busy and we had a ton of rain in May. Our April showers were late I guess.

      June 2, 2012 at 8:26 am

Leave a Reply

