Nature photography from a woman in the woods

The Family That Hides Together . . .

The family that hides together are bound to stay together (and be safe).

As I passed a creek on a back county road, I saw two families of geese swimming together near the road. I stopped and went back to get some cute baby geese pictures and in about 30 seconds they had all disappeared. I glanced around the creek edge and found them huddled together, heads down and hiding under a fallen bush. It amazes me how those parents had gathered the little ones together and were able keep them there still and quiet .. I watched for about 5 minutes. Those are some amazing parents.

Click to see the little ones in each picture . . .

4 responses

  1. You did a great job getting these photos! I have a great deal of respect for goose parents!

    June 12, 2012 at 11:04 pm

  2. Wonderful images. Your goose mama is a much better mother than a grouse mother I just saw who had her babies walking across a busy highway. They all scattered when we stopped to try to get them out of the road and the mama hightailed it to the woods, leaving the babies to fend for themselves.

    June 13, 2012 at 7:58 am

    • I have seen ducks do that, too. Geese tend to be fighters, they are tough and the young ones obey. I look for them every time I pass that creek … I hope I get the pleasure of seeing them again before all the fuzz is gone.

      June 15, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

