Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Wild Columbine . . .

The wild red columbine is blooming, now. Many people call them “honeysuckle”. They are a very common wildflower here in Minnesota found during most of the summer. To me, they appear to be a very “royal” flower … they remind me of castles and crowns. What do you think?

On my main blog page (Bear In Mind), I have presented my readers with a photo challenge. Take a picture of a Face you find in nature. Check out my post and join in the search for faces.

Find a Face in Nature Photo Challenge.

4 responses

  1. They are gorgeous! We either don’t have them here (I wish we did) or I haven’t encountered them.

    June 19, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    • They grow almost like weeds here and easily found along the road sides. Montucky, you have a lot of gorgeous flowers we do not … and I wish we did.
      There is something naturally special about all areas of our country and that is good thing. And now we can share them easily over the internet.

      June 21, 2012 at 8:34 am

  2. I think it’s divine. We don’t have columbines here, not in the wild. I tried to grow some in the garden last year, but had no luck with them.

    June 26, 2012 at 10:17 am

    • I planted some “tame” blue and white ones and they lasted about 3 years … I can not find them in the flower garden this year, they disappeared.
      They were a lot bigger than these wild ones and looked up, not down.

      July 2, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

