Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Strange Fuzz . . .

Sorry, life has been too busy to blog … too busy to go out and seriously take pictures, too. However, I am still carrying my camera around everywhere I go and a few interesting things have crossed my path.

Walking down my driveway, I was admiring all the spiderwebs sparkling with dew and saw some strange “fuzz” moving around on a leaf …

Click to enlarge this one:

I have been trying to find out what kind of creature he is … the closest picture on the internet I could find was of a banded Tussock Moth caterpillar. There is enough differences to make me have some doubts … I also found several articles about not touching them because their hairs embedded in your skin and cause rashes/irritations and some people have extreme reactions to them. He looks harmless to me. I was very tempted to touch his fur to see what he would do, but because I was in a hurry I did not … sometimes a busy/hurried life saves you from bad things ….

2 responses

  1. That’s a pretty little guy! I’ve seen a few wooly worms here lately that seem to have extra long hairs on them too.

    September 1, 2012 at 12:02 pm

  2. What a cute little fuzzy. I’ve never seen one like that. He reminds me of those small, shaggy dogs. Glad you didn’t have time to touch him! 🙂

    September 4, 2012 at 9:03 am

Leave a Reply

