Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Wet and Hungry . . .

The description of January in Minnesota would never include the word “rain”, but that is exactly what is happening today. We anticipate a flash freeze, snow, and strong winds to roll in later this afternoon. I am concerned for these wet chickadees eating in a frenzy (maybe they anticipate the weather change) at the feeders in the rain this morning .. shaking off the wetness like a dog does when it gets wet.

WetHungryChick

4 responses

  1. Hi Bearyweather, Oh how I love seeing Chickadees! You have really captured the cute, sweet spirit of this enchanting little bird! Excellent picture! Have a super nice day!

    January 15, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    • They are my favorite bird, too. They look small and fragile, however, they are pretty tough to live up here in the north year-long.

      January 20, 2013 at 2:14 pm

  2. I love Chickadees. You captured him beautifully. I hope they survived the flash freeze. I always wonder how the birds manage it in the cold.

    January 19, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    • Thanks. I love them, too .. they fill my yard and woods with song year round .. I have a ton of them hanging out here this winter. One hit a window on my porch a few weeks ago. It was so stunned, I did not think it would make it. I picked it up, kept it warm by wrapping a winter scarf around it … I only held it until it started turning it’s head and looking around, then I left it in the scarf on the porch. About an hour later it flew off. They are tough little things.

      January 20, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

