Nature photography from a woman in the woods

What a Hoot . . .

Take a look at my surprise Sunday visitor . . .
Screen shot 2013-03-10 at 4.33.50 PM
Owls live here in Minnesota, but are not seen often during the day. If a winter has been extremely tough with lots of snow and cold owls from Canada will come down to Minnesota looking for food. A caught a glimpse of this one while it checked out the bird feeder area looking for a meal. Successfully catching a mouse, shrew or maybe even one of the many red squirrels will insure that this owl will stick around for a few days. I am hoping to get a better picture if it does.
Screen shot 2013-03-10 at 4.34.20 PM

“A wise old owl sat on an oak; The more he saw the less he spoke; The less he spoke the more he heard; Why aren’t we like that wise old bird?”

4 responses

  1. What a treat for you! I love to see them!

    March 10, 2013 at 10:49 pm

  2. What a hoot, indeed! These are wonderful, Bearyweather. 🙂

    March 21, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    • It was definitely a treat. That was the only day I saw him … and I have been looking and calling.

      March 24, 2013 at 8:34 pm

  3. Hi Bearyweather, Your photo is great! I like Owls. One is making its nighttime appearance in the huge Sycamore just outside my home in the backyard here in FL. Nightly hoot concertos are happening. Good thing I like birds! : )
    Have a super good day!

    April 10, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Leave a comment