Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Bird Identification …

“My favorite weather is bird-chirping weather.” ~Terri Guillemets

identifyThe northern Minnesota woods is still covered by 3 feet of snow (and plowed piles and drifts many feet higher). It is still cold. Some tree buds are visible, but closed up tight. However, some of our summer birds are showing up … what could they possibly be thinking? I am doing my best to feed them, but the bug eaters are out of luck.

With no leaves on the trees and no seasonal food, it is very easy to spot the normally shy birds. These two little birds were busy in my maple tree this morning … and I have not been able to identify them. I have seen them before … I might have even figured out what they were some time in the past, but I can not remember (sign of old age?). I am thinking that they are some type of warbler? Can anyone help me out.

2 responses

  1. They are pretty, but I’m not familiar with them. We had snow again today too, but nothing like what you have had lately.

    April 21, 2013 at 8:16 pm

  2. They are pretty little things, whatever they are. I’m not very good at bird identification, and don’t think I’ve seen birds like this before.

    April 26, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Leave a Reply

