Nature photography from a woman in the woods

An Alien Bird . . .

woodcock1I was surprised to find this little bird and his mate along the road ditches earlier this week.  That extra long beak and big eyes made them look so strange and … alien.  My internet search for what they could be was fast .. not too many birds have these characteristics.  I was excited and proud of my latest nature find … only to discover that other people see these birds all the time.  Everyone I told my story to, knew exactly what they were and how “common” they were in our area.  What?  I have lived here most of my life and never saw these supposedly common birds?  How could that be?

woodcock2

I am not going to let others dampen my excitement of finding this bird that is foreign to me … it brightened my day.  In case this bird is also foreign to you, it is known as the American Woodcock.

It may have been their camouflage coloring that has prevented me from seeing them in the past … but, now that I am looking for them, I have seen them several times in different places this week.  I am now waiting for a dry Spring evening to go back and see if I can catch them in courtship.  I have been told that the males put on and elaborate flying display to attract a mate.

6 responses

  1. They have some of the best camo in all of birdland. I wish we had them here.

    You reminded me of looking for Javelina in Arizona. I hunted for them from nearly 10 years without seeing one, then suddenly I started seeing them nearly everywhere I went.

    May 4, 2013 at 11:47 pm

    • I did not mention that they also make this “buzzing” sound … it is also a rather alien aspect of their existence.
      I have never heard of a Javelina … I will have to look it up.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      May 6, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  2. Hi Bearyweather, I have never seen an American Woodcock in person. Interesting bird. Glad you shared. Excellent photographs. Have a really nice day tomorrow!

    May 7, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    • Thanks … I wish that they were less shy so that I could catch some of their strange behaviors, too.

      May 18, 2013 at 8:51 am

  3. They are well camouflaged. I’d have missed them, too. I’ve never seen one before so they look alien to me as well. Your story reminds me of the Red-Winged Blackbird. For years and years and years, I had never seen a Red-Winged Blackbird. We’d be on a road trip and my husband would say, “Look! A Red-Winged Blackbird!” I’d look, but never see it. Then one day I finally saw one. I’ve been seeing them ever since. Funny how we can be “blind” to something until it comes to our attention.

    May 10, 2013 at 10:43 am

    • “Funny how we can be “blind” to something until it comes to our attention.” …. Oh my YES!

      And, what we are “blind to” is not always related to the camouflage of nature …. I have even experienced this phenomenon with a close friend.

      May 18, 2013 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

