Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Primary Colors . . .

“Colors are the smiles of nature.”  ~Leigh Hunt

An Indigo Bunting is a rare site in my yard.  In the past 7+ years, I have only seen one once before.  They are fun to see as they glow a bright blue even when it is cloudy like when I took this picture and are beautiful singers. 

IndigoBunt

I have been experimenting with the manual settings on my camera … learning a lot, but they are not always the best shots.  (Check out my post on my out of the ordinary photography weekend … I am curious … Are you a treasure hunter like me or do you prefer to design your photographic shots?)

Normally, I would not post a picture that was out of focus like my second picture is … however, this natural shot of primary colors coming together does not happen everyday.

I am keeping an eye on the feeder area and hopefully this primary sight will be repeated itself on a sunny day and my shot won’t turn out blurry.

Primary

6 responses

  1. What a stunning sight!

    June 3, 2013 at 10:27 am

    • Thanks Lynne …. so glad you stopped by and commented.

      June 5, 2013 at 12:01 pm

  2. The first photo is splendid with the new tree growth as a setting! Great colors and textures! I’m glad too that you posted the second one. Seeing those colors together is exciting. I’ve seen a bunting here only once, several years ago and I think it was just passing through. We have lots of finches and quite a few goldfinches but they are very shy and seldom come to our feeders.

    June 3, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    • The colors and textures in the woods this Spring are amazing … they make every picture a little better without me even trying. That maple tree is a tree of life these days … always full of birds and usually a battle or two with the red squirrels takes place there. The squirrels like the maple seeds.

      June 5, 2013 at 12:04 pm

  3. Wow! That shot doesn’t need to be in focus. The colors are amazing (especially having them all together like that!). I saw my first Indigo Bunting here a week or so ago. They’re beautiful birds.

    June 17, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    • After I posted the picture I realized is was not so bad … but, I should have taken the time to work on it in photoshop a little bit. I have never seen all of them together at the feeders since … in fact, it appears they have all found better food sources as I do not see them at all in my yard … maybe busy with babies?

      June 24, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

