Nature photography from a woman in the woods

On the Waters Edge . . .

Dragonflies skimming the water eating bugs
“Adopt the pace of nature: her secret is patience.” ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

The sun was peeking at me, so I took an early morning ride out to visit the neighborhood lakes (5 within 3 miles) and the river with my camera. I have not taken a camera safari for a long time. At the start everything was very quiet, there were no people in sight anywhere, no creatures, and nothing eye-catching or unique to take a picture of. Why was I out suffering with the bugs so early??

When I stopped looking for things to photograph and just enjoyed the natural solitude all around me .. that is when I found what I was looking for … there is something great to be said about being in the moment.

Here are a few things I spied along the water’s edge:

What was in the water ???

To be continued in my next post . . .

7 responses

  1. Hi Bearyweather, Love the Bald Eagle! Glad you have eagles around. There supposedly is one hanging around here on the far end of the development near the cattle ranch but I have not yet seen it. Have a fantastic coming week!

    June 24, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    • There are lots of bald eagles here. This spring they even held a hunting party on my lake … over a dozen out there fishing together one afternoon.

      June 24, 2013 at 4:54 pm

  2. Yup, just “being there” is when things happen.

    June 24, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    • I am the most successful with my camera when I do not go out with an agenda or expectations …

      July 1, 2013 at 9:16 am

  3. Beautiful photos! It’s amazing what we see when we open our eyes.

    June 26, 2013 at 6:19 pm

    • Being in the moment is important … thanks for stopping by!

      July 1, 2013 at 9:14 am

  4. It looks like a wonderful safari. 🙂 I’ve learned that about being in the moment, too.

    July 1, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

