Nature photography from a woman in the woods

New Tree Growth . . .

“Today I have grown taller from walking with the trees.”  ~Karl Baker

New Growth

Red Pine Pinecone

Trees grow slowly over the years, so it seems.  However, if you closely observe them .. their growth is amazing!  Strong and hardy growth … through the harshest weather, they survive and grow.

If we could only be as strong as the trees …. oh how we would grow.

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow.  If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living.”  ~Anatole France

newgrowth2

Jackpine

“Don’t go through life, grow through life.”  ~Eric Butterworth

bluespruce

Blue Spruce

10 responses

  1. Hi Bearyweather, Blue Spruce are among my favorite of the evergreens. If we had kept our little farm in TN, we had planned to plant a couple. Your pictures are great! Have a fine coming weekend!

    July 5, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    • I planted about a dozen blue spruce 3 years ago because I love them, too. I thought they would make a good “fence” between my property and the gravel pit next door. Only about 7 of them are surviving .. this one was thriving. Guess I should stick with the trees that are growing here … red and white pine.

      July 9, 2013 at 12:28 pm

  2. I have enjoyed seeing the new growth too.

    July 5, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    • I was amazed this year as it happened all at the same time and so quickly … the pollen on the other hand has been extreme … my nose has had its share.

      July 20, 2013 at 12:59 pm

  3. Nice wildlife/wildflower pics–I like the macros.

    July 12, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    • Thank you. So glad you stopped by and commented.

      July 20, 2013 at 12:58 pm

  4. I missed some of the new tree growth this year. Next spring should be quite interesting around here. Beautiful images, Bearyweather. 🙂

    July 16, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    • I bet your Fall (and pictures of it) will make up for missing spring growth ….

      July 20, 2013 at 1:00 pm

  5. Lovely new growth. You captured it so beautifully. By the way, I am reading a great book (recommended by one of my readers) called The Forest Unseen: A Year’s Watch in Nature by David George Haskell. Have you read it?

    July 28, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    • Thanks for the book recommendation … sounds good, I will take a look at it.

      July 28, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

