Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Flying Flowers . . .

“Butterflies are self propelled flowers.” ~R.H. Heinlein

butterhoney13

This is a very common butterfly in my area … it loves flowers.  If I watch them flutter about, they take me to the best flowers .. although they seldom sit still long enough for me to get a nice photo.  I got lucky on both counts today.

“The green grass and the happy skies
court the fluttering butterflies.”  ~Terri Guillemets

butterhoney2013

6 responses

  1. They are, and another nice thing… they are usually found on stationary flowers too!

    July 8, 2013 at 8:36 pm

  2. Hi Bearyweather, Such a pretty butterfly! Is it a Swallowtail? We have white Cabbage Looper Moths and Monarch Butterflies here – likely more kinds of butterflies but those are the only two I have seen here in the last 4 months. Have a wonderful day tomorrow and enjoy your butterflies and flowers!

    July 9, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    • I do not know what the name of the butterfly is. It is very common and the same size as a monarch. The other butterflies/moths I see are much smaller.

      July 20, 2013 at 1:02 pm

  3. Beautiful! Lucky, lucky, you! I’ve been trying for a couple of weeks to capture a butterfly like this. They refuse to sit still except when I’m out without my camera (which only happens when I’m doing quick chores — by the time I run in, grab the camera, and run back out, the butterfly is gone).

    July 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

    • You are right there was a ton of luck with these pictures … Butterflies do not sit still and usually fly away when I get anywhere close. You have to catch them when they are occupied … and you have to move very slowly. Sometimes if I stand in one place and wait for them to come back (like dragonflies do) I can get a shot of them.

      July 20, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

