Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Photo Challenge: Fresh

blue1

It is fresh, wild fruit season in Minnesota’s north woods.  Wild strawberries are just finishing (very small but with a ton of flavor – much more than tame ones).  Wild raspberries are starting to turn red and the bushes will provide fruit for at least 3-4 weeks to come.  The jackpot of berries in Minnesota, however,  are the wild blueberries.  Blueberry picking spots are protected by their finders like precious treasure .. these berries are the gold of the woods.

Today, I found a few wild blueberries just turning blue in the woods around my home … could anything be fresher than berries popped in your mouth right off the plant?  Wild, totally natural, sweet, fruity, blue delicacy.  Now, I am off to my “secret” blueberry treasure spot . . .

blue2

6 responses

  1. Hi Bearyweather – Oh boy – bear and deer snacks! Just kidding, of course! I do adore this fruit and had several Blueberries planted at both the lake house yard and the little farm back in TN. None here in FL as we don’t have enough sunny yard (I live in a condo). Your pictures are just excellent, by the way. Have a wonderful Tues. tomorrow!

    July 22, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    • Actually, I think my biggest competition are the squirrels and raccoons. The wild blueberries are smaller than tame ones. They like to grow in partial sun usually in areas where logging has taken place a few years earlier. Yesterday, I found most around old tree stumps, under pine trees and for some reason there were a lot of ant hills … and when they get angry, they can really sting you.
      Sometimes I wonder whether getting the berries is worth the fight with the bugs, it is hard to keep picking when you are being constantly attacked … but, then I look at that full bowl and I say yes.

      July 25, 2013 at 1:22 pm

  2. looks yummy, how can I get a cyber sample?

    July 22, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    • If I knew how to send you one I would … but, I think I would have to send you a mosquito or two, too. 😉

      July 25, 2013 at 1:23 pm

  3. Yum! My favorite fruit. 🙂

    August 18, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    • My favorite, too. I did not get enough wild ones this year (it took 2 hours to get a half bucket in my favorite spot fighting the bugs the whole time .. they are precious berries). I like the wild ones the best .. smaller, more juicy and flavorful …. but, I need my blue berry supply. So, I went to a farm to pick some last week … 6 quarts in less than 2 hours. they keep very well in the freezer for year round treats.

      August 18, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

