Nature photography from a woman in the woods

A Funny Old Bird …

“A funny old bird is the pelican
His Bill holds more than his bellican.  
He can take in his beak
Enough food for a week,
But I’m damned if I see how the hellican.”

~  Dixon Lanier Merritt (1910)

theGang

Like most good limericks that are repeated over and over again through the years … I found many variations of this “Pelican” limerick.  To choose one, I picked the one that most resembled the one I remember from childhood.  Pelicans are far from a rare bird around Minnesota lakes in the summer time.  While you are out fishing on the lakes around my house, one may appear from time to time and keep an eye on you.  Begging/waiting for a fish to get away from you or you could go weeks without seeing one.

A new bird event in my area this summer are numerous pelicans sort of hanging out on this lake in the same spot about the same time every day.  Not sure how they found this spot or why they like it so much, but they have been hanging out most of the summer.  They are pretty predictable … I know if I drive by after 10am I probably won’t see them.  Another opportunity to photograph them usually takes place after 6pm.

(click images for a slideshow of the full-sized images)

Stop by “Bear In Mind” to find out how you can save a Drive-In Theater .. they are  in danger of disappearing completely.

2 responses

  1. I would sure enjoy having those pelicans hanging around!

    August 22, 2013 at 9:17 pm

  2. They are beautiful, and wonderfully captured. I expected to see pelicans here near the shore, but haven’t seen one so far.

    September 17, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

