Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Mush-a-rooms …

toadstool

Why some mushrooms are referred to as “toad stools”

It appears to be mushroom season in my woodsy yard, as a wide variety of them are growing everywhere. The larger ones tend to grow singly  and others have popped up in clusters that remind me of little villages of huts.

The squirrels must have enough other things to eat, or these mushrooms are poisonous because they are being ignored. I know very little about mushrooms …

    1) The white puffball type are editable (but, I have not been brave enough to try them).
    2) The dark mushrooms/fungus growing on birch trees make a healthy tea (Chaga – anti cancer possibilities.  To me, it tastes something like Oolong)
    3) I am 80% sure I could identify a morel mushroom and I know they grow in the Spring.
    4) and the most important thing I know is that if “I don’t know” I should not eat them – or even touch them.
6 responses

  1. Nice collection! On my last outing I saw lots of them too. I collect morels each spring and enjoy eating them as well as giant puffballs. I recently read though that some species of puffballs are toxic, so I will have to do more research before next spring too.

    September 22, 2013 at 11:29 pm

  2. We have lots of shrooms growing around here, too, bearyweather. And–hey–one of my friends gave me a lot of chaga and have been drinking it lately. Do you have a picture of it growing on a tree?

    September 29, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Do you like the tea?
      I can take a picture for you.
      One of my students – my TA (actually, he just graduated) collects them and then makes the tea and sells it. (I got mine as a gift from him ;-))

      September 29, 2013 at 11:23 pm

      • I do like the tea. Don’t love it–but like it. My gift came from our Spanish teacher at the school.

        September 30, 2013 at 5:19 am

  3. Hi Bearyweather, I like seeing ’em but not eating ’em (Never wild and almost never farmed ones). Have a super good weekend!

    October 11, 2013 at 1:22 pm

  4. Chaga sounds interesting. I’ve never heard of it. It’s mushroom season here now, but ours are not nearly as pretty as yours. 🙂

    October 19, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

