Nature photography from a woman in the woods

Wild Flowers are Starting to Shine . . .

“None can have a healthy love for flowers unless he loves the wild ones.” ~ Forbes Watson

hawkweed1

It finally stopped raining and dried up enough so that I could cut the grass around my house (it had grown about a foot high during all of the rainy days).  I appreciate the shorter grass as it keeps the bugs back a bit and flowers that were hidden shine brightly. The robins appreciate it, too as they are back to hopping around the yard.

The Wild Flowers of Minnesota are blooming everywhere. The fields are full of them and some of these I found in my yard yesterday.  (some of them are considered “weeds”, but they are wild flowers to me).  All are extremely common and bloom in abundance making them very easy to find.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“The Earth Laughs in Flowers.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Rain, mosquitoes, more rain, more mosquitoes … My Latest Post at Bear In Mind:   “Trapped, Send Help”

7 responses

  1. It’s so good to see the wildflowers, isn’t it. I loved your slideshow and recognized the flowers although I’ve seen Blue-eyed Grass only once.

    June 27, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    • I have more pictures of wild flowers coming … taken under mostly dark gray skies … was waiting to see i the sun would come out so I could go retake a few in the light of day. I found a new one to me yesterday … the wood lily.

      July 1, 2014 at 10:19 am

  2. That first picture is especially exquisite. I was thinking today how vibrant the wildflowers look when they’re first new.

    June 28, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    • We went from totally white, to extremely green .. and lots dark, gray skies .. I think that is why the colors seem so bright to me this week, they are really shining with color

      June 28, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    • That first flower is actually called “hawkweed” … but, it is so bright and cheery(especially in large patches) it does not look like a weed to me.

      July 1, 2014 at 10:20 am

  3. Your wildflowers are lovely. The one you identified as honeysuckle is, I think, columbine.

    July 8, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    • Yes, it is … Red Columbine, actually. I have called it that a few times and people here correct me “Oh, you mean honeysuckle.”
      There are so many varieties of honeysuckle, they could be related but I don’t argue about it. … mostly it is just the locals that call it honeysuckle.

      July 8, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

