Nature photography from a woman in the woods

The Most Artistic Flower . . .

insideiris1While I wait for the wild iris, roses, and lady slippers to bloom I am enjoying my tame bearded irises very much. They fill a corner of my yard with a burst of color. Always dependable to bloom in abundance, they need very little care, and they are the most artistic flower I have ever seen.  My camera and I took a good look inside them today.

Frilly petals, fuzzy boas, iridescent shine, luminous colors, intriguing patterns, a variety of textures and a complex form that shadows play in on a sunny day.

 (Note:  Below, I am trying out a new feature I found … if you click on a circle, you can see the slide show with full-sized pictures … what do you think?)

Iris, most beautiful flower,
Symbol of life, love, and light;
Found by the brook, and the meadow,
Or lofty, on arable height.
You come in such glorious colors,
In hues, the rainbow surpass;
The chart of color portrays you,
In petal, or veins, of your class.
You bloom with the first in Winter,
With the last, in the Fall, you still show;
You steal the full beauty of Springtime,
With your fragrance and sharp color glow.
Your form and beauty of flower,
An artist’s desire of full worth;
So Iris, we love you and crown you,
MOST BEAUTIFUL FLOWER ON EARTH!

~  Edith Buckner Edwards

2 responses

  1. Beautiful flowers! I like the slide show.

    June 14, 2013 at 11:20 pm

  2. I hadn’t thought of them that way. You’re right. Irises are the most artistic flower. Beautiful shots, and lovely slide show. 🙂

    June 26, 2013 at 6:20 am

Leave a Reply

